The world's smallest cinema to Hollywood

The world’s smallest cinema at the Oscars

I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo was invited to the event for the directors of the Oscar® Nominated Shorts

Now that the dust has settled, it is time to reflect on our Oscar adventure. I knew that I wanted to finish my adventure around the date of the Oscars when I started it. Little did I know that I would actually be invited to one of its special events. I had already been meeting up with Carter Pilcher, the CEO of Shorts International, in the Netherlands during the Dutch Film Festival, and twice in Santa Monica. Shorts Internationals had the intention to make the world’s smallest cinema part of the Shorts Awards, a special Oscar event for the directors of the Oscar® Nominated Shorts. However, it was not yet certain if it was actually possible. A few weeks before the event I got the green light. What a joy!

The week before the event I dropped by their office to discuss the details. I was not aware yet that I actually was allowed to screen the Oscar® Nominated Shorts which was very exciting news. The list with nominations is quite long and I prefer to screen shorts with a maximum length of five minutes, so I made a selection. I screened “Get a Horse!” by Lauren MacMullan and Dorothy McKim, “Mr. Hublot” by Laurent Witz and Alexandre Espigares, “Pitääkö Mun Kaikki Hoitaa? (Do I Have to Take Care of Everything?)” by Selma Vilhunen and Kirsikka Saari, “Feral” byDaniel Sousa and Dan Golden, and “The Voorman Problem” by Mark Gill and Baldwin Li. The exciting part was that all the directors would be there too. Also, I was informed that a celebrity would receive a special award during the event.

Five days before the event I received a phone call by FunX Radio. They caught up on the story and wanted to interview us. We discovered that AT5 published a story about my presence during the Oscar weekend and that other media, including several blogs and news websites, followed up on it. The Filmkrant, the most established film magazine of the Netherlands, interviewed me and published a story, Radio 2 interviewed me live on national radio, and the Metro, one of the largest Dutch newspapers, published the story in their print edition.

The event was held on the Saturday evening of the Oscars weekend at the Paley Center for Media in Beverly Hills, a one-minute walk from the most prestigious shopping street of LA, Rodeo Drive. In the meanwhile, Monica Cho and Jennie Chow travelled all the way from San Francisco to help me with the event and with PR, their speciality. After months of drought, the Oscar weekend started with the heaviest downpours since 2011. The city was being taken over by flash floods. Luckily, the cinema had a central position inside the building. The event was wonderful and glamorous. The responses to the cinema were overwhelming. Above all, the enthusiasm and positive words by the Disney crew made my night. Marieke Oudejans (film and television producer from the Netherlands) accepted an International Visionary Award for Eye International, and Rutger Hauer (on of my favorite actors) accepted an International Visionary Award by the Dutch Film Fund. It was a truly amazing weekend!

Shorts Awards - Oscars - I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Shorts Awards – Oscars – I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Shorts Awards - Oscars - I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Shorts Awards – Oscars – I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo – Metro

Shorts Awards - Oscars - I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Shorts Awards – Oscars – I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Shorts Awards - Oscars - I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo - Batman

Shorts Awards – Oscars – I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo – Batman

Shorts International - Shorts Awards - I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Shorts International – Shorts Awards – I Vitelloni: cinema piccolo

Standaard

Geef een reactie

